richlayers: (Default)
My friend Tamisha ([livejournal.com profile] noita_ivy, you can read her account on her livejournal) was just in a car accident. :( She's okay, a little scratched and banged up, but the car is totaled, so she and her husband are trying to bring in some extra money.

She's got a shop with some beautifully designed jewelry, and in the hopes of some economic stimulus, she's offering a 10% discount if you use the coupon code WRECK when you check out.

Some of her lovely designs:

asian stamp

deer and sun necklace

Check out the rest of her store at Tamisha Design!
richlayers: (Default)
Hits the nail on the head!



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZwM3GvaTRM
richlayers: (Default)

IMG_4217, originally uploaded by richlayers.

A bit of pottery I made in high school, a jade plant from a friend, and Mom's handiwork around the garden.

richlayers: (Default)
I've gotten a few requests and questions about Mom's ever-growing Lord of the Rings collection, so I thought I'd take some pictures and meander on through the books, the other books, and the other things Tolkien-centric in our household.

This seems like a good place to start:

Many Pictures! )

Cross-posted to [livejournal.com profile] prettybooks, [livejournal.com profile] told_tales, and [livejournal.com profile] richlayers
richlayers: (Default)
My friend Brian is still struggling. Thank you to those of you who sent a few dollars. He's written up a little something and is offering a service if anyone else is willing to donate a few dollars. You can read what he has to say right here.

I know some of you reading this are probably having a hard time making it through the bills this year, and may not have a single dollar to spare. But if you can't spare even a dollar, can you please, please, please spread the word around? Link back to this entry or his entry or his music page?

We could all use a little good karma, right?

Puppy

Aug. 24th, 2009 01:44 am
richlayers: (Default)

Puppy, originally uploaded by richlayers.

Book Decor

Aug. 23rd, 2009 03:30 pm
richlayers: (Default)

Book Decor, originally uploaded by richlayers.

Three of my favorite books, the bouquet from Elizabeth's wedding -- my little corner of pretty by my desk.

richlayers: (Default)


Your result for Test yourself: What alignment are you?...

Chaotic Neutral

You are The Anarchist; Chaotic Neutral.

You scored 38% Lawful and 60% Good, which makes you Chaotic Neutral.



Chaotic-Lawful is the ethical scale, on which you scored 38%, where 0% is utter chaos and 100% is total cosmos.


This Lawful scale doesn't necessarily judge how committed to the system you are, even though one could guess so from the name since the system usually holds the law, but instead it means how sorted internally you are, and how likely it is for you to choose cosmos over chaos.


You are chaotic, which means you let chance guide your actions, or just plain like to burst out and act randomly. You have less inner stillness than a lawful character and would typically enjoy being out amongst people more than home alone.



The Evil-Good scale is quite easily figured out, being the morale scale, and on this you scored 60%, where 0% is totally evil and 100% is completely good.


Now, evil here on this scale doesn't necessarily mean you're out to make people suffer. It means ego-centering and glorification of one's ego. You, as neutral, don’t make your actions based on a selfless vs selfish basis, but rather what you have judged to be the right thing to do for other reasons.




Being chaotic neutral, you set personal freedom above all things. You are reliable only in how totally unreliable you are. You act with passion instead of logic.


Take Test yourself: What alignment are you?
at HelloQuizzy

richlayers: (Default)
John-Boy posted this a day or so ago and it's been in my head most of the time since then.



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvnCKJCgCD8
richlayers: (Default)
I was tagged by [livejournal.com profile] spinninghead. ME. She tagged ME. So I will answer these questions.

Firstly: If you've been tagged, you must write your answers in your own note and replace any question that you dislike with a new, original question.

Secondly: Tag eight people.

Who sleeps in bed next to you?
Sometimes Eowyn, sometimes Pepper, sometimes Chris, sometimes a combination of the above.

What's your all time favourite book?
The City of Dreaming Books, by Walter Moers

What kind of magazines do you read?
Smithsonian and Realms of Fantasy. Sometimes. Kind of like books of short stories, they usually take me a while to get through. Those are the only ones I can read cover to cover.

What's your occupation?
I'm a student at Butler Community College, a computer lab assistant, and, lately, an invalid.

What's really creepy?
millipedes

What websites do you always visit when you go online?
Facebook, Livejournal, yahoo mail, gmail... and often amazon.com, paperbackswap.com, imdb.com

If you could change your name to anything what would it be?
I like my name. I would change other Rachels' names so that it might feel more unusual, but I wouldn't change MY name.

What are you listening to right now?
People typing and mouse clicking. And Loreena McKennitt, but only in my head.

What are you most excited for?
I hope to have Subway for dinner in the near future.

What is your favourite item of clothing?
My green striped knee high socks.

What was the last thing you bought?
A peach pear apricot smoothie.

What was the best thing you've seen today?
http://girlsareprettyforever.blogspot.com/2009/08/run-through-field-of-tall-grass-holding.html

Does the weather affect your mood?
If it's really, really hot I feel drained and cranky. Other than that I like most kinds of weather.

What is your zodiac sign?
Capricorn.

Do you want to learn another language?
I want to know them all.

Five things you wouldn't want to live without (I changed this question cause "can't live without" is factual and boring and in every one of these things ever):
1. Beautiful artwork
2. Magical, transporting books
3. Side-stitching laughter
4. Fresh fruit
5. A luxuriously comfortable bed

Do you have any siblings?
One.

What's something you'd like to say to someone right now?
Oh, so it's HER FAULT.

Do you have to pee?
Not right now.

Say something to the person who tagged you:
I think if we lived near enough to hang out we'd probably be totally tight friends.

Tagged:
[livejournal.com profile] fa3ryg1rl
[livejournal.com profile] foxarris
[livejournal.com profile] gizzardgulpe
[livejournal.com profile] kalenel
[livejournal.com profile] king_laugh
[livejournal.com profile] ladytairngire
[livejournal.com profile] mcburnie
[livejournal.com profile] paradoxicalme
richlayers: (Default)
I love this story.

richlayers: (Default)
My dear wonderful friend Brian, who has always been there for me when I need a kind word or just someone to talk to, is terribly down on his luck these days. He's working full time at McDonalds and trying to get funds and paperwork together to go to college this fall, but you know the saying, "If I didn't have bad luck, I wouldn't have any luck at all?" That seems to be plaguing him lately and I can only watch and wish I could help.

He lives in a townhouse, and had a couple of roommates, but last month they skipped out -- he came home and all their stuff was gone, even though they were all on the lease together. So now he's paying for the place by himself instead of splitting bills three ways. Not easy to do even in much better circumstances!

He had his guitar and bass guitar over in a friend's garage, where they had been working up a band set together. Then his friend's dad got drunk and angry and threw all the instruments outside. He and his other friend want to sue the father for the cost of the damages, but before they can do that they have to pay an appraiser and for a court filing fee.

And if that's not bad enough, today I heard from him and his car was broken into, and his tape deck, ipod, and adapter were stolen. He filed a police report and apparently there were five other reports filed in that neighborhood or apartment complex. Maybe with enough evidence and momentum they can catch the person who did it, but the chances of that are pretty slim, and the chances of him getting his stuff back seem even less likely.

This is a great guy, a super talented musician and one of the nicest people I know. It breaks my heart to see things going this way for him and not to be able to do much for him. I'm hoping that a few of you might help -- send a dollar or two, if you've got it to spare! If you can't, spread the word! It's a small effort but I have to do what I can to help this guy, he's always been a great friend to me and I can't sit here and do nothing!









You can check out some of his music on his myspace page, The Music of Fox, and maybe find some tunes you like or learn a little more about the guy. Whatever you think, I hope you'll consider passing along a few dollars or passing the word along to other friends or music lovers.

Thanks.
richlayers: (Default)
Chantal Kreviazuk - Ghosts of You



I have loved this since the first time I heard it. I want to read the book of this song. Or watch the movie that's this same plot. And the music! It's just so good!

I also really love her song "Mad About You," and basically the whole album, Ghost Stories is awesome. (You can hear samples of all the songs on the amazon.com page.)

Ghosts of You

GI Joe

Aug. 12th, 2009 02:03 pm
richlayers: (Default)
This is sort of a review. Sort of.

My mind is just boggled by the negative reaction to GI Joe. Mostly because it doesn't seem to be, "Ehh, it wasn't my thing/I didn't really like it," so much as the people who didn't like it really HATED it, reviled it, thought it was the worst movie ever, or reacted in some other way to convey a disappointment so extreme that it evoked in them an emotion better reserved for genocide or ex-boyfriends.

Okay, so this movie wasn't life-changing for me. The plot was fairly predictable, the love stories lacked originality, the bad guy had some cheesy lines. The physics occasionally visited the realm of gross improbability. The special effects were shiny, the explosions were big, the Baroness wore leather, Channing Tatum looked ripped, the best buddy had some funny lines, the... ice sank in water? All the kinds of things that I expect from a summer action flick. Well worth the price of a matinee for a couple hours of mindless fun.

So my question is, what were these people expecting? Seriously, if you want an intellectual thriller, a tightly woven plot, deep and original characters... Why are you going to see a movie made by HASBRO? But, as my friend Gregory said:

"Well, the original cartoon was one of the most intellectual sci-fi/action/toy commercial cartoons of all time...I can see how they might be disappointed."

80/20

Aug. 7th, 2009 09:32 pm
richlayers: (Default)
I'm on vacation. Sort of. I'm on break from school for last week and next week. I have some stuff I need to do but I don't need to drive back and forth to class every day and I'm pretty well setting my own schedule, which is nice.

The comic has been a lot of work and a lot of fun lately. Aaron went to ConnectiCon last weekend and had a blast, passed out tons of cards and sold a lot of t-shirts (which are now available in our store, check out our designs: http://www.nearandfarcomic.com/products-page/ ), and shmoozed with some of the coolest names in webcomics. (Yes, you've heard of them.)

Tues, Wed, and Thurs, Chris and I went up to Manhattan (the little one) to see Annamarie, Greg, and Brandon, and some of their significant others. It was a lot of fun: we ate out too much, stayed up too late, played a lot of Rock Band, and watched too much TV. Now, this is starting to sound like an ideal vacation.

So for the next 9 days I am planning to just stay home, spend very little money, and do whatever I can within a ten block radius. (Or I might go for a long walk sometime, depending on if they wind ever comes from the north.)

Chris said to me: "One of these days, soon, you should write a novel."

I said I'd get right on that.

He said: "You read so many. I'm sure you can write a good one."

Well, one thing's for sure, I need to write more. I'm starting to... feel the burn. Ta da, blog entry! About life and stuff! So that's ... a start?
richlayers: (Default)
No kidding!!!



Yay Dahl!

Break Time

Jul. 31st, 2009 09:51 pm
richlayers: (Default)
I've got a two week break from classes and while I have a lot to do, I thought I'd try to get at least one BIG book read during my "free" time. But which one??


[Poll #1438005]

Profile

richlayers: (Default)
richlayers

September 2010

S M T W T F S
    1234
56 7 8 9 1011
12 131415 1617 18
19 202122232425
2627282930  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 03:01 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios